Join   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
News & Press: Leadership

Meetings Committee Leader Appointed

Monday, October 19, 2015   (0 Comments)
Share |

October 19, 2015

The National Postdoctoral Association (NPA) Board of Directors has appointed Tiewei Cheng, M.D., Ph.D., as co-chair elect of the Meetings Committee. Cheng will join Jennifer Lamberts, Ph.D., in planning the 2017 Annual Meeting.

Nadja Grobe, Ph.D., will step down from her current position as co-chair of the Meetings Committee after the conclusion of the 2016 Annual Meeting. The NPA wishes to thank her for her service in planning the 2015 Annual Meeting and the 2016 Annual Meeting. We appreciate her support of the NPA.

Tiewei (Leo) Cheng, M.D., Ph.D., is currently a postdoctoral fellow at University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center, where he studies epigenetics in the context of cancer drug resistance. He obtained his M.D. from Wenzhou Medical College, China at 2005, and received his residency training at Shanghai Cancer Hospital from 2005 to 2008. In 2014, he obtained his doctorate degree from Graduate School of Biomedical Science, University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, where his study concentrated on experimental therapeutics. Upon graduating from his doctoral program, Cheng transitioned into his current position at M.D. Anderson Cancer Center, where his research focuses on elucidating the role of histone deacetylases in the development of resistance to proteasome inhibitors in multiple myeloma, a malignancy of plasma cells. Outside of academia, he has been actively involved in serving student community. He was the president of Student InterCouncil (Student Government of UTHealth). He also represented UTHealth at UT System Student Advisory Council.  In his free time, he enjoys swimming, playing soccer, building PCs, and watching the NFL. 

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal