This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
News & Press: Events

2019 NPA Garnett-Powers & Associates, Inc. Mentor Award Recipient Announced

Monday, March 11, 2019  
Share |

March 11, 2019


Edward Krug, Ph.D., has been named the recipient of the 2019 NPA Garnett-Powers & Associates, Inc. Mentor Award. The award recognizes a faculty member who has engaged in exceptional mentoring of postdoctoral scholars. Krug will be presented with the award at the 2019 Annual Conference on on Friday, April 12, in Orlando, FL.


After receiving his doctoral degree in biochemistry at Purdue University, Krug did postdoctoral training in developmental biology at Texas Tech University and the Medical College of Wisconsin. He is currently professor of regenerative medicine and cell biology at the Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC), where he also serves as associate dean for postdoctoral affairs with administrative oversight of over 200 postdoctoral scholars and staff scientists.


He is past co-director of the MUSC-Claflin NIH Institutional Research and Academic Career Development Awards, and founding director of the state-wide South Carolina IDeA Networks of Biomedical Research Excellence postdoctoral academic career development program, two postdoctoral career programs focused on training for academic careers. He has served as a coach for graduate students in the academy for future science faculty program, an NIGMS-funded Pathfinder Award (Rick McGee, PI) that tests a coaching-based, sociological model for promoting diversity in the STEM fields.


He is currently a professional development coach in the NIH-funded National Research Mentoring Network STAR program that provides a year-long series of monthly workshops on a variety of grant writing and career development essentials for underrepresented postdocs and junior-to-mid career faculty. He is a member of the advisory boards of DiverseScholar and, and a regular attendee of diversity-focused conferences including Society for Advancement of Chicanos/Hispanics and Native Americans in Science, Annual Biomedical Research Conference for Minority Students, and Understanding Interventions that Broaden Participation in Research Careers. He is past chair of the postdoctoral leadership section of the AAMC GREAT Group and a consistent supporter of the NPA for over 10 years.


He was nominated by Willian Abraham da Silveira, Ph.D., postdoctoral research fellow, Ana Clara Bobadilla, Ph.D., postdoctoral fellow, Sarah B. Hales, Ph.D., assistant professor, past vice president, MUSC PDA, Lindsay T. McDonald, Ph.D., postdoctoral fellow, president, MUSC PDA, Navjot Shah Saxena, Ph.D., postdoctoral scholar, scholarly learning chair, MUSC PDA, Nishant Saxena, Ph.D., postdoctoral scholar, and Paula Traktman, Ph.D., Hirschmann Endowed professor, dean, College of Graduate Studies.


Krug’s nomination packet highlights the various ways he has served as “an outstanding mentor” for over 25 years. One nominator shared this story: “My first contact with Dr. Krug was in a time of need. I arrived at MUSC and started having problems with my advisor. I knocked on his door unannounced and asked for help, and he gave it to me. First listening to my problems, then trying to help me to negotiate with her and when this showed to be impossible, helping me to find a new position, a position I still hold after 2 and a half years. I was an immigrant that have arrived on the USA just some weeks before, I had no contacts and not much hope the University would help me. But he did, he always does. His door is the door the postdoctoral researchers knock when they need help or advice.”


One letter highlights the policy changes Krug has fought for, stating “As Associate Dean, he constantly fights to implement additional benefits for post-docs, as illustrated by the parental leave he successfully established at MUSC as well as recent initiatives to elevate post-doctoral salaries.” Along with interacting with postdocs semi-annually during a Responsible Conduct of Research retreat, Krug also works closely with the MUSC PDA through officer elections, advocacy continued participation at monthly graduate council meetings.


“Dr. Krug is a true proponent of postdocs being in a state of transition from student to independence in either academic or industrial science. His philosophy is that, as a postdoc, you came to leave, and that a postdoctoral position is meant to be a time in which a postdoc gains the technical skills, communication skills, collaborative networks and credentials necessary to take the next step toward establishing a successful career in science.”


The NPA applauds Krug for his contribution to the postdoctoral community and the considerable time and effort he has dedicated to the mentoring and development of postdocs.

Past recipients of the Mentor Award are*:


2018 - Leanne Redman, Ph.D., FTOS, associate professor, Clinical Sciences Division, Pennington Biomedical Research Center 

2017 - Malene Hansen, Ph.D., associate professor in the Program for Development, Aging and Regeneration at the Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery

2016 - Shannon Manning, Ph.D., M.P.H., Michigan State University (MSU) Foundation associate professor in the Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics

2015 - Jennifer Silk, Ph.D., associate professor, Department of Psychology, University of Pittsburgh

2014 - Joel Elmquist, D.V.M., Ph.D., Maclin Family Professor of Medical Science, in honor of Dr. Roy A. Brinkley, the Carl H. Westcott Distinguished Chair in Medical Research, Departments of Internal Medicine and Pharmacology, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas, director of the Center for Hypothalamic Research, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas

2013 - Rafael Muñoz-Carpena, Ph.D., professor of agricultural and biological engineering, University of Florida

2012 - Tayyaba Hasan, Ph.D., professor of Dermatology, Harvard Medical School in the Wellman Center for Photomedicine at Massachusetts General Hospital, professor at the Harvard-MIT Division of Health Sciences and Technology


*Title and institution listed here reflect the title at the time award was given, and may have changed since then.