This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
News & Press: Events

2019 Distinguished Service Award Recipient Announced

Monday, March 11, 2019  
Share |

March 11, 2019


The recipient of the National Postdoctoral Association (NPA) 2019 Distinguished Service Award (DSA) is Mary Anne With, manager for the postdoctoral program at Los Alamos National Laboratory. The DSA represents appreciation for an individual or entity that has demonstrated either a profound, sustained, or leadership contribution to improving the postdoctoral experience. The DSA will be presented at the 17th Annual Conference, April 12-14, 2019.


With is the manager for the postdoctoral program at Los Alamos National Laboratory. Her passionate leadership and desire to continually enhance and improve the program has had an extremely positive impact on the lab’s scientific visibility to the external community. The laboratory’s postdoctoral program averages well over 400 participants year-round, representing a major pipeline to the laboratory’s future science and engineering workforce.


Over her time managing the program, some of the enhancements she has made to the program, include the development and implementation of a number of distinguished and named postdoctoral fellowship appointments, a number of postdoc publication prizes, as well as the Postdoc Distinguished Performance and Mentor Awards.


She has created a variety of career development initiatives including but not limited to “Science in ‘3’,” research symposiums, external career fair, programmatic capabilities awareness workshop, and internal career fair. She oversaw the creation of the LANL postdoc association, and was also instrumental in the development of a program database allowing for the reporting of extensive data. She also created a program exit questionnaire to be completed by postdocs as they exit their postdoc appointment.


On a national scale, other national laboratories have approached With for assistance as they launched their own directors and distinguished fellows programs, providing guidance and direction. She established the National Laboratory Postdoctoral Program Forum, bringing together the postdoc program coordinators from all of the Department of Energy laboratories, as an extension to the NPA.


During her Los Alamos career, she has had a positive impact on the professional development for thousands of postdoctoral researchers. Previous to working at Los Alamos National Lab, she was employed by Sandia National Laboratory and a subsidiary of Lockheed Corporation.


With was nominated by Ross Beattie, Ph.D., president, Los Alamos postdoc association, David L. Clark, Ph.D., program director, National Security Education Center, Christopher J. Fontes, Ph.D., technical staff member (scientist 5), Tanya L. Jackson, professional staff, National Security Education Center, and Blas Pedro Uberuaga, Ph.D., scientist 5.


In her nominations packet, her 28 years of service are highlighted, pointing out that With has influenced the careers of over 10,000 postdocs. One nominator states “Mary Anne’s dedication, professionalism, and creativity have been instrumental in making the Laboratory's Postdoctoral Program a flagship professional development and pipeline success story, and for helping to maintain Los Alamos as a Marquee place for science, technology, and engineering careers.” Another nominator says, “What stands out the most to me is Mary Anne’s dedication to the postdocs themselves. She knows them all. She knows their science and she knows their interests outside of the lab.”


One nomination letter indicates With has “methodically championed and introduced new categories of named and distinguished fellow appointments for Los Alamos that has become the single most successful early career Ph.D. recruitment pipeline for the Laboratory,” her efforts resulting in the lab funding 40 Director’s, Distinguished, and Named postdoc fellow appointments annually. The letter goes on to report that With was instrumental in the development of a program database that facilitates the reporting of extensive program data to all levels of staff and Los Alamos management. With is also credited with creating a program annual survey and exit questionnaire as an alumni tracking tool. With also created a postdoc program resource guide, and initiated the mentor best practices workshop. She also oversaw the creation of the LANL postdoc association.


With is praised for pushing for expanded professional development opportunities in the lab and working to improve the postdoc program. Along with all of her accomplishments she is lauded as “a role model for service to the Laboratory and to the National Postdoctoral Association, mentoring early career scientists, and establishing unique and innovative postdoctoral research opportunities and appointments as an essential recruiting tool for US National Laboratories.”


The NPA applauds With for her various contributions and the profound impact they have had on the postdoctoral experience.


Past recipients of the Distinguished Service Award are*:


2018 - Sam Castañeda, Director, Visiting Scholar and Postdoc Affairs Program, University of California, Berkeley

2017 - Postdoc Executive Committee, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

2016 - Nancy Schwartz, Ph.D., Dean for Postdoctoral Affairs and Co-Director of the Office of Graduate Affairs, University of Chicago, Professor in the Departments of Pediatrics and Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, and Director of the Kennedy Research Center

2015 – Center for Cancer Training, National Cancer Institute

2014 – Shirley M. Tilghman, Ph.D.

2013 - Burroughs Wellcome Fund

2012 - Philip S. Clifford, Ph.D., Associate Dean of the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, Professor of anesthesiology and physiology, Medical College of Wisconsin

2011 - Science Careers and The Gladstone Institutes

2010 - Trevor M. Penning, Ph.D., Professor of pharmacology, biochemistry and biophysics, and OB/GYN, and Director of the Center of Excellence in Environmental Toxicology (CEET), School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania

2009 - The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation

2008 - Shirley Malcom, Ph.D., Director, Education and Human Resources Programs, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)

2007 - Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology

2006 - Laurel L. Haak, Ph.D., Science Director, Discovery Logics

2005 - National Academies' Committee on Science, Engineering and Public Policy

2004 - Ruth Kirschstein, M.D., Senior Advisor to the Director, National Institutes of Health


*Title and institution listed here reflect the title at the time award was given, and may have changed since then.