Join   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
News & Press: Events

Nominations Being Accepted for the 2019 Mentor Award

Wednesday, August 22, 2018  
Share |

August 22, 2018

The National Postdoctoral Association (NPA), in partnership with Garnett-Powers & Associates, Inc., would like to announce the call for nominations for the 2019 NPA Garnett-Powers & Associates, Inc. Mentor Award. The award recognizes a faculty member or advisor who has engaged in exceptional mentoring of postdoctoral scholars.

The award recognizes a faculty member or advisor who has engaged in exceptional mentoring of postdoctoral scholars as exhibited by the following:

  • Has advocated for postdoctoral scholars.
  • Has been accessible and provided open lines of communication to postdoctoral scholars.
  • Has created a supportive environment for research; has shown respect for the postdoctoral scholars' goals and assisted them in fulfilling those goals.
  • Has provided them guidance in professional development, including, for example, encouraging the use of the Core Competencies for self-assessment and guidance, completing an individual development plan, and assisting the postdoctoral scholars in building a professional network through generous sharing of contacts.
  • Has demonstrated a sustained commitment to creating a productive working environment that enhances the overall postdoctoral experience.

The recipient of the NPA Garnett-Powers & Associates, Inc. Mentor Award will receive a plaque, an honorarium of $500, complimentary registration to the 2019 Annual Meeting, and a $1,000 travel stipend. The award will be presented at the 17th NPA Annual Conference, April 12-14, 2019.

Last year’s Garnett-Powers & Associates, Inc. Mentor Award recipient was Leanne Redman, Ph.D., FTOS, associate professor in the Clinical Sciences Division at Pennington Biomedical Research Center, a stand-alone research campus of Louisiana State University.

Nomination Process

Deadline for submission: Friday, October 12, 2018

To submit a nomination, postdocs should provide the following:

  1. Brief description of the nominee. Please include the nominee's full name, title, institution, and academic credentials.
  2. Essay describing why you believe that your nominee should receive the 2019 NPA Garnett-Powers & Associates, Inc. Mentor Award (1200-word limit). Consider addressing the following points:
    1. How your nominee provides "hands-on" professional development experiences for postdocs, such as writing papers or reviews and applying for grants/fellowships.
    2. How your nominee provides postdocs with guidance on networking and planning for their future careers.
    3. How your nominee maintains accessibility with postdoctoral scholars by consistently providing open lines of communication and helping them to become competent in communication.
    4. What are the philosophy, activities, characteristics, or traits of your nominee that make this person a truly outstanding mentor? Be sure to give specific examples.
    5. How the nominee's mentoring has benefited you personally (if applicable).
    6. A summary of the nominee's mentoring efforts, including, for example, the length of time that she or he has served as a mentor; the number of postdocs that the nominee has mentored; and examples of the success that these postdocs have had under the mentor's guidance, especially regarding increased proficiency in any of the six NPA Core Competencies.
    7. How the nominee has influenced the quality of the postdoctoral experience on a local, regional, or national level.
  3. Up to three (3) supporting documents (e.g. letters of support from former postdocs within five years from completing their postdoctoral training and/or current postdoctoral scholars; newspaper, magazine, or journal articles).

Nominations will be accepted from postdoctoral scholars (anyone who is currently a postdoc or within five years of having completed postdoctoral training). Only postdocs are eligible to make nominations. Submit the nomination package electronically by emailing it to

The official selection committee will be responsible for reviewing nominations and making a recommendation to the NPA Board of Directors, who will give final approval to the selection. The recipient will be notified in December 2018.


Past recipients*

2018: Leanne Redman, Ph.D., FTOS

2017: Malene Hansen, Ph.D.

2016: Shannon Manning, Ph.D., M.P.H.

2015: Jennifer Silk, Ph.D.

2014: Joel Elmquist, D.V.M., Ph.D.

2013: Rafael Muñoz‐Carpena, Ph.d.

2012: Tayyaba Hasan, Ph.D.

*Title at the time the award was given

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal