This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
News & Press: Events

Posters Recognized at the 2016 Annual Meeting

Wednesday, March 9, 2016  
Share |

March 9, 2016

The National Postdoctoral Association (NPA) selected three poster session winners at its 14th Annual Meeting, held March 4 - 6, 2016, at Van Andel Research Institute in Grand Rapids, MI. The winners were:

The University of Chicago's "Postdoctoral Advocacy in Action: Lessons from the Future of Research Chicago Symposium" by Kyle Dolan*, Rianne Ellenbroek, Erin Heckler and Nancy B. Schwartz;

Society of Toxicology Postdoctoral Assembly’s "Expanding Leadership, Scientific, and Career Resources for Members" by Gabriel Knudsen*, Caitlin Murphy, Tongde Wu, Samantha Snow, Eugene Gibbs-Flournoy and Karilyn Sant; and

Maine Medical Center Research Institute's "Research Staff to the Rescue: Long-term Sustainability of the Institutional Research Fellow Association" by David Kuhrt*, Sarah Peterson, Eric Tweedie, Elisabeth Bergst, Lucy Liaw, and Don St. Germain.

The poster judging was facilitated by Sharon McCullough. The official judges were: Amita Bansal, Mary Bradley, Deirdre Brekken, Tiewei (Leo) Cheng, Rowena Dineros, Janet A. Fields, Erin Heckler, Sarah Hokanson, Christine Holmes, Eric Hoyer, Natalie Lundsteen, Darwin Operario, John Peck, Sina Safayi, Joe Schmitthenner, Yvette Seger, Pallavi Singh, Melissa Vaught.

Poster session winners were selected based on poster content (relevance to NPA goals and dissemination of ideas/information with the potential to make a significant impact on the postdoc population) and communication. This year's poster session fostered idea exchange and meaningful discussion, allowing participants to emulate successful programs at their institutions.

*Main, first, or presenting author