Join   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
NPA News and Committee Updates
Share |


The Committees of the Membership, along with the International and Diversity Officers, are the core of the NPA. They work to develop events and resources that support the postdoctoral community, and their work would not be possible without volunteers. Volunteering with an NPA committee is a great way to gain professional experience at the national level, while giving back to the postdoctoral community. Here are some highlights of what committees and officers have been up to and how you can get involved.


The NPA welcomes two new Diversity Officers, Claire Horner-Devine, PhD, and Caleb McKinney, PhD.


Applications for co-chairs of the Advocacy Committee have recently closed, and the Board of Directors looks forward to announcing the appointment of new leaders in 2018.


The Advocacy Committee writing team welcomes anyone who would like to volunteer time to write or edit. Interested volunteers should contact Bethany Veo, PhD, or Adriana Bankston, PhD. The writing team coordinated two articles appearing in the November issue of The POSTDOCket:

The Meetings Committee is hard at work on preparations for the Annual Conference, happening April 6-8, 2018, in Cleveland, OH. Early bird registration is now open, and don’t miss the special Rock & Roll Hall of Fame event! Read the preview article in the November issue of The POSTDOCket to learn more about what’s in store and check out the Annual Conference page for regular updates and announcements.


Please contact the NPA if you’re interested in donating items for the silent auction. The proceeds of the auction will help support travel awards for the 2019 Annual Conference.


Tiewei (Leo) Cheng, MD, PhD, will continue serving as co-chair of the Meetings Committee through the conclusion of the 2018 Annual Conference. Rajan Chaudhari, PhD, will join Kerry Kaufman as co-chair for planning the 2019 Annual Conference.


With her appointment to the NPA Board of Directors, Shakira Nelson, PhD, will step down as co-chair of the Outreach Committee. In 2018, Jennifer Aumiller, MEd, will transition from co-chair to chair, and Catherine Brooks Zander, PhD, will remain as vice chair. The Outreach Committee is always looking for volunteers and is especially seeking individuals interested in writing on topics related to postdocs, jobs, and career advice.


The POSTDOCket is delighted to welcome Simone Otto, PhD, as editor in chief, beginning in January 2018. Ian Street, PhD, will join the leadership in the newly created role of deputy editor. Melissa Vaught, PhD, current editor in chief, will continue to serve in an advisory capacity for the first quarter of 2018.


The POSTDOCket has several open writing opportunities and also welcomes contributions about postdoc issues, as well as postdoc association and postdoc office programs and events. For more information, contact Street.


Keep an eye on NPA News announcements for the forthcoming call for leader applications for the Resource Development Committee. Sarah Hokanson, PhD, is stepping down as co-chair. Erin Heckler, PhD, will continue to serve as co-chair. Be sure to check out the “Choosing a Postdoc” infographic, created by volunteer Mohamed Ghoneim. You can also share the related NPA resource for graduate students.


The NPA committees and officers have many great projects underway and more to come. But we need your ideas and your help! Are you ready to get involved? Contact a committee leader or fill out the NPA volunteer form today.


Back to the Table of ContentsPrevious article | Next article

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal